Skip navigation

Discussions

Help

Welcome to Makerscouts!

This is a program management and planning group for Makerscouts, an open-source effort to bring 21st century STEAM learning and community development to young children.

Want to get involved? We are in the process of 'forming and storming' the concept of Makerscouts with a wide community. This may seem strange, so just jump in and help out!

To make the most of your time, check out these resources first:

Read more

You guys got on NPR thats AWESOME!!!!!

Hey guys just heard wanted to say congrats.

Hacker Scouts and Maker Scouts Merging

New friends,

Read more

Makerscouts Organization

Reposting this from Jarick:

Hello Everyone,

Read more

Charleston Makerscouts Meeting

Reposting from Jarick C:

Hi All,

Read more

Next Planning Call this Sunday, 11/11

The next bi-weekly call is scheduled for this Sunday, November 11th at:

5:00 pm EST  /  4:00 pm CST  /  3:00 pm MST  / 2:00 pm PST  /  11:00 am HAST

Here's the link I set up in Google + specifically for this session:

https://plus.google.com/u/2/events/coalcqo0gvd88arh2b2dbl3lok0

Anyone heard of STEM Scouts?

It came to my attention recently that there is already an organization with the same mission, goals, and focus as Makerscouts. It's called STEM Scouts (http://stemscouts.org/). They have funding from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and other groups, have well developed partnerships, a good badge system, and some compelling marketing messages on their site.

What is the best way for Makerscouts to proceed? Compete? Differentiate? Merge with STEM Scouts?

Discuss.

Next Planning Call this Sunday, 10/28!

Next Makerscout planning call this Sunday, 10/28

The next bi-weekly call is scheduled for this Sunday, October 28th at:

5:00 pm EST  /  4:00 pm CST  /  3:00 pm MST  / 2:00 pm PST  /  11:00 am HAST

For this and all future calls:
1) We are switching to G+! This will make life easier for all of us than Skype.

Read more

Friendly reminder: Next Planning Call this Sunday!

Next Makerscout planning call this Sunday, 10/14

The next bi-weekly call is scheduled for this Sunday, October 14th at:

5:00 pm EST  /  4:00 pm CST  /  3:00 pm MST  / 2:00 pm PST  /  11:00 am HAST

For this and all future calls:
1) We are switching to G+! This will make life easier for all of us than Skype.

Read more

Next Makerscout planning call tomorrow, 9/29

The next bi-weekly call is scheduled for this Saturday, September 29th at:

4:00 pm EST  /  3:00 pm CST  /  2:00 pm MST  / 1:00 pm PST  /  10:00 am HAST

For this and all future calls:
1) We are switching to G+! This will make life easier for all of us than Skype.

Read more
Need help?

Blog

The blog lets your team communicate by posting updates and discussing issues. It is a great place for sharing progress, discussing challenges, and exploring ideas.